I recently posted about a negligent discharge at a Raleigh hotel which killed Nathan Andrew Clark, a teenager from Lewisville, NC in town for a soccer match. I’ve seen a few people start to get on their soapbox about gun control and I think they missed the fact this murderer was a convicted habitual felon with no less than 28 prior convictions. We already have laws on the books about felons and firearms and you can see just how effective those turned out to be. This guy was just released from jail on October 25, 2014 and not even a month later he kills a teenager. Based on what I see in his record he has not legally been able to possess a gun since 1989 and if I am reading that wrong, certainly not since 2011. I think what failed here the more I read his record is the system. They did not throw the book at him the first time he committed a felony in hopes of rehabilitation and the reverse happened, a druggie who likes to beat on women, commit hit and runs while driving high without a license who had started his criminal enterprises by breaking-and-entering finally murdered someone. I hope they figure out a way to use the felony-murder rule to wipe him off the planet or lock him up forever.

So if you are one of those people who believes there is some law which should change to stop this from ever happening again, please detail that for me so I can understand. From where I sit the laws we have need to be enforced so people like this are not able to continually commit crimes and have suspended or reduced sentences. I’m not naive enough to believe he was not committing crimes during those times where his record does not show charges, most likely he was still up to no good, he just wasn’t caught. It’s tragic it took the death of a teenager to finally get him off the streets.