You may recall the day I found AleSmith at our local bottle shop and was amazed. That day I picked up a bottle of Speedway Stout which has been a favorite of mine for a very long time. A few weeks ago I decided it was time to open the bottle and so I poured it, tasted it, and poured it out. It was horrible with diacetyl and acetaldehyde which suggests some sort of bacterium or wild yeast. The top of the bottle was crusty and in general it was horrible. I’m not sure what caused the issues I experienced, but I am sure I don’t want to have that Speedway Stout again. Anyway, here is the photo of that bottle, I know if I have it again it will be on draft in case we have a widespread issue with cases of it which were sent to NC. For those readers in NC, I cannot recommend you grab this one at this time.

speedway

 

