I’m a fan of Ezra Brooks 99 Bourbon so when I spotted Ezra Brooks 99 Rye Whiskey I had to give it a whirl. The 99 proof Rye was only 25 bucks so it really was a no brainer to snag a bottle. Let’s get down to business, the aroma was filled peaches, leather, rye spice, black pepper, vanilla, and oak. The flavor was more peach character, leather, black pepper, vanilla, oak, and of course rye spice. The sweetness was present from start to finish and alcohol only played a supporting role providing warming post consumption. Other characteristics of the finish were leather and oak which faded into the aftertaste. To me this rye is just a bit on the sweet side. It’s not cloying, but when you couple the sweetness to the peach aroma and flavor it’s almost a bit much. To me this might be a good candidate for an Old Fashioned or some other mixed Rye drink where the drink could benefit from the sweetness. I drank the bottle neat and would have preferred it to be just a skinch less sweet. At any rate, this is a tasty bottle and the price point is great. Pick up a bottle and see what you think.