Just a short post today, but I got to thinking about completely blind tasting. Have someone put several beers in glasses with no indication of anything except style and then evaluate using a BJCP Score Sheet. Once that is done have them tell you the beer and determine how you did. At the exam I gave recently I presented Paulaner Salvator which is an awesome doppelbock when fresh. It doesn’t age worth a flip, but when fresh it is great. A few of the examinees blew it on this one thinking it was overly sweet, some overly bitter, but in the end it was a great doppelbock as always. It got me thinking if I served Paulaner Salvator and told them what it was would their comments have been different or the same. The goal of the exercise would be to have the same comments either way. Try it for yourself!