As part of my Irish Whiskey excursion I got a bottle of West Cork Irish Whiskey Bourbon Cask when it when on sale at NCABC for $21.95. I must say it was much less sweet than 2 Gingers I mentioned recently on the blog. Neat this one was much more interesting, but still was not complex enough to keep my attention. The Bourbon mainly presented itself as oak rather than truly having Bourbon character. The flavor was lightly spicy with cinnamon and light pepper characteristics. It also had a fruit apple character and a touch of citrus. At 22 beans this one is one to try if you have not tried it before or if you are looking for an Irish Whiskey which is nice to have neat. I’m still looking for complexity, but at this price point you should definitely give this one a whirl and decide if it is up your alley or not your cup of tea.

west-cork-blend

