When NCABC had a sale in December I decided to snag a bottle Auchentoshan American Oak when the recommended Valinch was MIA. In fact I could not locate Auchentoshan Valinch anywhere so I opted for the little brother. At $35 on sale it was not much of a stretch to give this single malt a whirl. First the good news, this Scotch is filled with oak aroma and flavor. Now the bad news, this Scotch is filled with oak aroma and flavor. The aroma was fresh cut oak and the flavor was sandalwood, cinnamon spice, leather, and more oak than I would tolerate when combined with the other flavors. It just didn’t work for me and as I placed the bottle in the recycling bin last night I was not sad to see it go. If you are an oak fan you should probably give this a whirl if you can find it at a price point similar to the NCABC sale, but otherwise I would suggest you take a pass.

auchentoshan-american-oak-bottle-carton

