The Famous Grouse is on sale this month at North Carolina ABC stores for $21 so I figured why not give it a whirl. Readers may recall I drained a bottle of Black Grouse after finding it a bit off-putting at first blush. With The Famous Grouse I found it approachable and tasty from the beginning, but it isn’t going to blow your socks off the same way Monkey Shoulder does, but MS will cost 30% more. The better deal is to find a Costco near you and to snag a 12 year Kirkland Signature Blended Scotch Whisky which is $38 a handle and infinitely more complex than Famous Grouse. So while I enjoyed The Famous Grouse, I probably won’t be hitting it again with Monkey Shoulder really hitting the spot and Costco’s less expensive and more complex blend not far behind Monkey Shoulder.

the-famous-grouse-3

