I just shook my head in disbelief when I saw a headline indicating the parents of Trayvon Martin were considering running for office. A tragedy happened five years ago in Florida when Martin was out obtaining ingredients for Lean and ran into an overzealous community watch volunteer with whom he struggled and he died as a result of his actions. Now two parents who could not control their 17 year old son in school nor out are suddenly fit to hold public office. I guess stranger things have happened, we all remember Marion Barry winning election after smoking crack so why shouldn’t the parents of a teen looking to mix some drank be considered for office. Personally I try to find the most qualified individual for the job, but I don’t think being the parent of a slain teen qualifies you for anything more than a position as a grief counselor.

fbi-affidavit

