For quite some time I have thought of filling out an application to judge at the GABF, but I never felt there was enough vacation time to make that a reality. Recently that changed so I contacted the Brewers Association about the process. It really could not be simpler, you fill out a resume of competitions and training sessions and then get three references with at least one from the industry. I actually had six, three BJCP Grand Master judges and three industry professionals. Now the waiting game begins. My understanding is they allow 10 to 20 new judges to the judge pool every year and so it will be at least 2019 before I get the call to judge if selected. I feel I have a good chance of being selected, but waiting through two more GABFs without a call will take patience. Anyway, if you have ever fancied yourself judging the event get that application in early!

gabf-judge

