The meme below popped up today and while the initial reaction is exactly no, it is not because of the last line of the meme, it is because the test is not instantaneous. In NC to purchase a handgun you have to get a pistol purchase permit from your county sherriff. That PPP requires a background check. At the point of sale for long guns there is also a NICS background check. The PPP has a maximum waiting period for the permit to be approved or denied and the NICS check is instant. So how do you implement a program to drug test people purchasing guns where the results are instant. Also how do you pay for such a test? Most would say the person purchasing the firearm should pay, but the equation pointed out by the meme was for governmental programs so the taxpayers bear the burden. There are 12 panel test strips for less than $10, but someone has to watch the process, adminster the test, and report the results. That drives up the cost to average $42 according to a quick Google search. So $42 each to be paid by the government because it would be an undue burden on the person purchasing a firearm. In December 2015 Time published the number of NICS checks performed through that point in the year and it was 19,827,376. So $42 x 19,827,376 = overflow of my calculator, let’s punch that into the computer to yeild: $832,749,792 or almost 1 BILLION DOLLARS!!! I can already tell you I do not want to pay for that either as a taxpayer or as someone who may purchase a firearm. Most of the drugs tested on a 12 panel test only remain in the system for a up 7 days, a few go beyond that point, but it is pretty useless in the grand scheme of things. I believe where welfare recipients have been tested the vast majority have passed the test so even a testing program for those on govermental programs has limited benefit. Better IMO would be to have random drug testing for governmental programs. That would save money and still do what the program was desiged to do which is ensure money from the government is not funding a drug habit. Now the final piece of the puzzle is what do you do in areas where marijuana is legal? The Feds say illegal and adminster the NICS check so I assume any drug use would be a disqualification, but if something is legal where you are it seems to me it should be allowed to be in your system. I’m heading to Denver in a few weeks and while I do not do drugs or smoke marijuana, I might find myself near an area downtown where someone is legally smoking dope. If I get second hand smoke from that exposure would I test positive on a drug screen? I don’t know, but ultimately any drug testing burden should be shouldered by the government and I am against needless governmental spending so I would oppose testing for firearm purchases because of the costs involved and because it imposes an undue burden on the populace.

drug-test

