To end the standoff with the gunman in Dallas the police used a robot and detonated a device to kill the shooter. I’ve long been an advocate for the caught red handed brand of justice where someone who commits a crime is immediately dealt with and long trials are avoided. The police have long had snipers to take out threats to the public, but this is the first time I can recall where someone was killed for their actions without threatening a hostage. I’ve not seen one person indicate the sniper did not deserve to die, but somewhere in the back of my brain I have a little voice telling me his execution may have been slightly premature. I am not questioning whether he should die for his actions, but rather was there not some other means to incapacitate him so more information could have been discovered. I worry he may not have acted alone even though all the evidence and statements thus far to come to that conclusion. It’s easy to sit back and armchair quarterback something after it happens, but I still have that voice in the back of my head whispering tear gas, flash grenade, taser, etc. Again, I have no problem with him being executed and in a timely fashion, so I guess caught red handed is now in effect!

5032664371_4e95640dbc_z

