Long ago the only means for beer geeks to come together was the beer rating site BeerAdvocate. We would participate in the forums and talk about beer and homebrewing. BA is where I met Paul Ogg who went by the screen name of Mentor. We would have been sharing rings affectionately named Beer-It-Forward and anytime Paul was on one I would jump in to participate. Paul even sent me a beer care package when I got married, he was just that kind of person. When I traveled to Denver we met and unfortunately that is the only time we met. We still kept in touch on Facebook and I was part of a group which updated his illness. You may recall in May the post entitled #BiggestSmallBeerEver – Nationwide Craft Beer Collaboration which discussed the collaboration project for one of Paul’s beer recipes. USA Today even ran a story on it. Paul had been in and out of the hospital recently, but over the weekend decided to enter hospice care as his health deteriorated. Sadly Paul died yesterday as a result of his cancer. He leaves behind his wife and two young daughters and my thoughts are with them.

The YouCaring page setup for Paul is still active and you can donate through it to help the family.

fe3ecfac-a2ca-4c0b-8fbd-e15c83daf09c_profile

