When I heard the news Budweiser was temporarily changing it’s name to America this summer I was stunned. I guess many others were as well since it now appears on Snopes. While I’m sure some will embrace the marketing, I’m just not feeling it. A Belgium company putting America on their product just seems wrong. You would think the US would trademarked America and locked it down so tight it could only be used with permission, but I guess it’s fair game. Perhaps we should market douchebags named America because we seem to have a plethora of them in DC. I wasn’t buying BMC before and I certainly will not be buying Bud products moving forward. I don’t feel like this is an act of patriotism, rather a marketing scheme and one which does not portray America in a positive light.

budweiser_renames_its_beer__america____co_design___business___design

