As most people know who frequent the blog I am a big fan of Game Of Thrones as well as Brewery Ommegang. With the season premier airing last night I spent the last few evenings enjoying previous Game Of Thrones beer releases from Ommegang. I was very pleased when they brought back Iron Throne last fall and picked up a gift pack of it and Take The Black Stout which I cellared until Friday night. Take The Black Stout was my first stop on the tour and while I like the beer, it is more of a dark saison than a stout. On Saturday I cracked open an Iron Throne which is by far my favorite and I had opened a bottle just after the fall release and then one more recently and noticed the peppery nature seems to shine more in this last one than before. It seemed a little underwhelming and sweeter in the fall, than now and I believe this one might actually benefit from a bit more aging. It still is a fave and I am very pleased they decided to bring it back.

The newest member to the GoT lineup is Seven Kingdoms Hoppy Wheat Ale and I enjoyed the heck out of this one. When I noticed it was a hoppy wheat ale I was expecting something different than what they delivered. This to me is a true white IPA ringing in at 6.9% ABV. The hops are listed as Bravo, Centennial, Citra, Cascade, and Columbus and I’m betting they used a heck of a lot of them. The flavor is citrusy grapefruit and orange and while the description mentions phenols, I really didn’t pick them up other than a bit of pepper through all the yummy hop goodness in this one. I let it warm quite a bit while it was consumed and the bitterness seemed to dominate once it neared room temps. The aftertaste was smooth and I actually loved the creamy nature of the wheat in conjunction with the hops. If you are an Ommegang or GoT fan who likes hoppy beers, give this one a whirl. I know I’m going to pick up another bottle if I get the chance!


Got Take The Black StoutGot Iron ThroneGoT Seven Kingdoms.

