I was digging through the fridge looking for something interesting for New Year’s Even consumption and stumbled upon an old bottle of Anchor Old Foghorn in the back of the fridge. The 7 ounce bottle was filled almost to the brim and had a substantial layer of sludge in the bottle. The label listed 8.2% ABV with date code 3JW. Since they stopped using 7 ounce bottles the early 2000’s this beer was either January 23, 1993 or January 23, 2003 and I suspect the prior based on when I would have purchased it. All the other beers in that cluster were late 1990’s with a couple dated 2000 so most likely I drank a 22 (almost 23) year old barleywine. How was it? It was decidedly bitter with the only signs of oxidation coming from sherry and deep caramel flavors. Hop flavor was pretty much nonexistent and the carbonation level was low, but this was a great beer which did a good job of standing the test of time. I wish I had another bottle squirreled away somewhere, but sadly that is not the case. It was a great beer for toasting the new year, cheers to Anchor for brewing a great barleywine which stands the test of time!

OldFoghorn

