Anyone who has read the blog more than once knows I’m frugal. Please do not confuse that with cheap, I strive to get the best possible quality at the lowest possible price. Think champagne tastes on a beer budget. Recently we opened a bottle of wine which was less than stellar and it most likely had a low price point. We have it sitting on the counter to be used in cooking and I don’t feel bad about that because it didn’t break the bank in the first place. Had we spent an exorbitant sum on the bottle I’d be quite upset. It is very difficult to know which wine to purchase without a recommendation or tasting and even then you have to pair the recommendation with your own palate. For that reason I typically don’t purchase any wine cresting $20 unless I know it is worth the price of admission. In reality you are going to get four glasses out of the bottle so the wine needs to be worth at least $5 a glass. Often you can try something at a restaurant for just a bit more per glass and decide if it is your cup of tea or not. I think this is an excellent way to find wines you may like.

I know some are reading this and thinking I’m cheap to set a $20 limit on a bottle of wine, but the reality is in most wine types you can find a bottle which is above average for $20 or less. Sure you can buy an expensive bottle of Chardonnay, but when I can pick one up day in and day out which is great for $6 why would I spend more?

Note: One exception to my $20 wine rule is Port. Typically a decent port is more than $15 and the sky is the limit with older Ports demanding high prices. If you are looking for Tawny Port or Vintage Port I suggest you focus on Fonseca or Ramos Pinto. Both of those always hit the target.

maximum_wine_enjoyment

