According to a Washington Post article the Attorney General of Virginia, Mark Herring, will announce later today they will void reciprocity agreements with 25 states on February 1, 2016. One of those states is North Carolina and the article goes on to say the states where reciprocity agreements will be voided have handgun permit regulations “weaker than Virginia.”

Let’s use NC as our litmus test and check out that statement about which state is weaker.

Virginia Requirements To Get A Resident Concealed Handgun Permit
-Any firearms safety course of any length, including online
-Application and Fees
-*Only for a Nonresident permit must fingerprints be submitted

North Carolina Requirements To Get A Concealed Hangun Permit
-Class and range time by a NCDOJ Certified Instructor
-8 hours of classes including 2 hours on the laws and use of deadly force
-Firearm range proficiency from 3, 5, and 7 yards
-Written exam
-Application, Fingerprints, and Fees
-*Nonresident permits do not exist

So they are telling us a face to face class on safety covering the laws and use of deadly force along with a written examination and time on the range is weaker than taking any online course with no demonstration of firearm proficiency? They are telling us a background check including fingerprints is weaker than an application and no fingerprints? To me it just doesn’t compute. I can only think of one thing it might be and that would be to get more Nonresident permits and the fees which go along with those permits. You see a Nonresident permit is $100 while a resident permit is $50.

On the bright side while in Virginia you can open carry provided it is visible in plain site. That should mean when you cross into the state you place the concealed firearm on the seat in plain site and you are good to go, but always remember open carry means in plain site and visible at all times.

virginia-to-void-ccw-reciprociy-agreements-with-25-states

Advertisements