Recently the news classified two pistols, two rifles, and a few thousand rounds of ammunition as an arsenal which got me to thinking what constitutes an arsenal? One definition I found was simply a collection of weapons. I’m not sure if two handguns and two rifles is exactly a collection and it sure doesn’t sound like an arsenal to me. If simply collecting firearms and ammo creates and arsenal then I know a plethora of people with arsenals. For me the term brings to mind a huge stash of military weapons in an underground bunker, but when it becomes defined as a collection then as soon as someone has more than a couple of firearms it must become an arsenal by definition. I don’t particularly like the term utilized in that manner. If the guy down the street has a rifle, a shotgun, and a handgun should his group of firearms really be classified as an arsenal?

3057

