I despise people who judge the whole based on the actions of a few and a recent opinion piece on Slate by William Saletan entitled The Terrorists Among Us. Forget Syria. The most dangerous religious extremists are migrants from North and South Carolina labeled everyone in North and South Carolina as terrorists. Basically Willie used arrests to try to demonstrate domestic terrorism roots are in North and South Carolina. While I am not going to say there are not fringe elements in NC, we don’t grow terrorists. No more than say Texas, where Will was born, or Maryland, where he currently resides. I’m sure in short order I could put together a list of people out to cause harm from either state. The biggest problem with Will’s article is most of the people he highlights are not native North Carolinians. I didn’t fact check the South Carolina notes in the article, but I’m confident if I did most of them would not be native either. You see this is the United States of America, we don’t have fences and borders between states so people are free to go from state to state without having to go through checkpoints and governmental intervention. Perhaps Will wants a society where we have those restrictions of movement, but I actually prefer the way we operate and move freely today in the US. One thing is for certain, I don’t welcome Will to NC after his article paints a picture of NC as a terrorist hotbed. In fact if we could close the border to anyone it should be to Will. He can stay in Maryland, perhaps he believes their recent riots in Baltimore to be more civilized.

saletan

