At the suggestion of another fellow in the liquor store one day I purchased a bottle of Old Forester 1870. The first night I tried the Bourbon I was also having some really dark chocolate flavored with espresso which made the flavor stand out as cherries and sweet brown sugar. The second time with a clean palate the flavor presented as spicy and peppery with that brown sugar character in tow, but a toned down sweetness and nice complexity. The 90 proof Bourbon is a blend of three expressions to mimic the flavor from 1870 and it does so nicely. With a $45 price tag it is worth the price of admission for an interesting and somewhat complex Bourbon. I may not keep it stocked in the bar, but if I saw it and need a nice drop I might pick one up to scratch that itch.

1870-2017-lineup

