So I confess, I noticed there was a Untappd badge for the beer and bought a bottle to badge up. After a little research and popping the top I am sure glad I did. The beer was first brewed in 2006 and shelved less than a year later. Last year Founders decided to brew Black Rye again and it hit the streets this year. At 7.5% ABV and 75 IBUs the beer is no slouch, with plenty of hop presence and hidden alcohol which makes it so darn smooth.

So fast forward to last night when I was having dinner with a coworker. He saw the Black Rye tap and asked what it was, so I just described it as a black IPA instead of getting into the entire rye bit. He settled in on one, and then another, and yet a third. You would have thought the man had never had beer before and it was his holy grail. I don’t know if you will feel the same way about the beer that he did, but you definitely should find a bottle and give it a whirl. It’s good stuff!

Founders BR

