I received a bottle of scorpion brew from The Unknown Brewing Company so of course I had to give it a whirl. The 10.1% ABV beer is called La Jordana del Escorpion en Fuego Hacia la Casa del Chupacabra Muerto and is brewed with 99 scorpions. Now I’m not sure what they add to the “Imperial Mexican-style lager,” but I cannot say they detract. To me the beer was just a tad sweet, but it had a touch of heat from serrano peppers so the sweetness was welcomed. The beer also was crafted with agave nectar which may also explain some of the sweetness. The coolest thing about the beer was definitely the bottle. The name takes up one side, but the back side is a silk screened skull which is just too cool for school. The name loosely translates as “The Path of the Fiery Scorpion through the House of the Dead Chupacabra.” Personally I think the best Chupacabra is a dead Chupacabra so if drinking 99 scorpions with agave nectar and serrano peppers will keep the Chupacabra away I’m all for it! Many thanks to Unknown for an interesting beer and story.

Skull

