I’ll be honest with all the beer flowing in NC I had not been paying attention, but I’m jones’n for a particular Fantome collaboration and so I started looking around to see if I could locate it. Turns out it ain’t coming. Apparently when the Westvleteren was distributed through Total Wine back in 2012 it caused an uproar with the distributor in NC and Shelton Bros pulled out of NC. I knew I had not seen Cantillon or Drie Fonteinen in a very long time and had also noticed a shrinking of the Belgian offerings on the shelves. My understanding is people were ticked with Total Wine was selected as the retail point instead of craft bottle shops and the aftermath was a falling out between the distributor and Shelton Bros. I may be missing a key element of the story, but I’m thinking everyone should unwad their panties and pull up their big boy pants and just get along. It was one beer and in truth the pack I got was not as stellar as what generally is procured across the pond.

So Shelton Bros I’m asking you to return to NC. I’m not sure what that will entail, but I do want to see the products from those breweries return to our shelves and eventually to my fridge. I know there are a lot of personalities involved and I really don’t care about that, what I care about it beer. Help a brother out!

