I went to a restaurant last night close to my hotel which touted The Bourbon Bar on their website. I should have known better based on only having four drafts which were not very well-chosen listed on the website, but decided to give it a whirl anyway. I decided the best place for me was going to be at this bar of Bourbon. As it turns out, my gut was correct and it was more like the bar with a few Bourbons. What they had was Booker’s, Basil Hayden’s, Knob Creek, Woodford Reserve, Maker’s Mark, and perhaps one more. I really don’t call a place with less Bourbon than I have at home a destination for Bourbon. In their defense they also had about four whiskeys for the Scotch drinkers, but their liquor shelf was small and boring. Luckily the food wasn’t bad and the service was acceptable. Not sure I will return unless they actually added some Bourbons to their lineup. I didn’t see any of the top shelf liquors move during my time there so adding on might not be the best business plan. I would ditch the name The Bourbon Bar, I know they are looking for a Bourbon street tie-in to New Orleans, but in the end it didn’t live up to the name.

 

