I’ve had a bottle of Victory Hop Ranch Imperial India Pale Ale sitting in my fridge for quite some time. I must admit that lately Victory beers haven’t blown my socks off the way they did at one time. I can remember when HopDevil was the juice and it was hard to keep your socks on while having a glass. Then it seemed to fade into more of a run of the mill IPA. Well Hop Ranch isn’t blowing socks off either, but the beer is no slouch. At 9% ABV it packs a hidden punch and the malt hop combination is well done so while you aren’t picking hop pieces out of your teeth it also isn’t too sweet from the malt. It’s like Goldilocks finding her perfect Double IPA and she thinks it is just right. The hops are Mosaic and Azacca and I’m not too familiar with either hop varietal. Mosaic I know and that is probably where the beer grabs it’s mango and citrus attributes. Azacca was previously known as hop #483 and it has a high AA% (15%) and can be used as both bittering and flavoring. The list of characteristics includes tangerine, grapefruit, pineapple, pear, stone fruit, tropical fruit, light pine, and light spice. I really enjoyed this beer, it did not have too much of anything and was well crafted. If you see it out and about give it a whirl, you will not be disappointed.

hopranch

 

