Finally found time to fire up the DVR and watch the season premier of Game Of Thrones yesterday so I figured why not pop the top on Ommegang Iron Throne Blonde Ale. The 6.5% ABV blonde ale had more bitterness than I expected and actually a bit of post consumption alcohol warming. It was tasty and took awhile for my palate to settle on the level of bittering. I was expecting something with less bittering and more Belgian in character. As it was the hazy beer was refreshing and went well with crackers and spicy cheese. I hear another release is coming in the fall, but have not seen evidence to establish that as fact. This could be a fun series of brews if they coincide with events in the show. This one really didn’t have a particular tie in to the premier, but still made for a tasty beverage while watching the tube.

IronThrone

